Bad Day

So, I remembered I needed to pack two lunches as the family was heading out the door.

My wife couldn’t find her jacket.

I forgot my computer halfway to daycare.  Had to turn around and go back to the house.

It was the start of a bad day.

And you know what?  I think that it is good to have a bad day… or at least a bad section to the day.  Here’s why.

One: It jolts us from our comfort zone.  On most mornings our household is routine.  A little stressed at times, but in most cases our mornings are uneventful.  This morning was a jolt to our routine.  It reminded me that I needed to make sure I have my to-do list ready each morning.  I should have been ready for the extra time to make my children’s lunches, but I wasn’t.

Two: It allows us to practice mental toughness.  I know this is coach speech, but it is important in life, too.  In sports an athlete or coach has to let go of a bad play.  I instruct my football players that they have about five seconds to be mad (or even happy) after a play.  Walk back to the huddle mad but walk to the line focused on the next play.  It is the same for life. A day is filled with moments; letting one thing affect everything else is a guarantee to having a bad day.  And sometimes we let a bad day turn into a bad week, or even month. Or longer.

Three: A bad day can teach us that something needs to change, if we are willing to be honest with ourselves.  When things go wrong for a while, something isn’t working.  It might take sometime to figure it out, but it is worth it.

So, if you might be having a bad day… cool.  I hope you find the benefit from it to change today to a great day.

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Life

One response to “Bad Day

  1. John Stritt

    Other then a bad cold, my day is good. Hoping yours improved. Enjoyed the video.

Leave a Reply

